Un-Revolutionize It: Tiny Homes

So I know that this is generally considered a “new” idea or movement. Tiny homes are growing in popularity recently especially in the sense that they feed well into the environmentally sound/responsible aspect this generation is growing so fond of. However, Tiny Homes have been around for years. I’m not just talking about since the turn of the century either, but way back to around the time of the Great Depression.

So recently I’ve actually also realize that my intrigue in this web-explosion of people creating and living in micro-homes is something I want to apply to my own life. Like, now.

This had been a far away idea I’d had when thinking about getting  a home one day and thinking in terms of what that would mean for my carbon footprint and what that would do for me financially and if that’s what I really want to spend my money on. I realize that it’s common to think of being “grown up” as something to do with what you do with your time, or your money. Usually that includes going to school to get an education, what school you go to also matters up to some point, getting a high-paying “white collar” job with that education, buying the wardrobe that goes along with your education and new job, buying the car alongside with that, buying your home, buying your family-WOOPS I mean creating a family which reflects all the values you’re supposed to have with all that education and money too. I soon recognized I don’t need much of any of that.

Yes, I’m getting an education at a private institution for an absurdly high price I have no means of paying for in the future I’ve been raised to expect which is ridiculously WHY I chose this institution, hoping that I would learn the social capital I need to do well and that the name of this school on my resume would give me the job I need to pay for the ridiculous amount of debt I’m accruing despite my very obvious need for more aid (but that’s a topic for another day).

But the rest of it? I don’t think I need a high paying, office/”white collar” job to be happy or successful, I’m now planning and hoping to start my own branch of work where I offer my services to companies as an environmental consultant, working to decrease companies’ carbon footprints, perhaps creating a label or at least fulfilling an existing label that can be marketed towards the growing population of consumers who want to be more environmentally conscious. The house? I don’t want a huge place, I also want to be able to move around or to have my own bit of land that I can live off of somewhat. I don’t necessarily want to escape into the wilderness, I’m definitely a hybrid gal who enjoys both city life just as much as I enjoy the wild and ‘roughin’ it’. The family? I want a dog. And if I do get married or live with a partner, I’m pretty adamant on knowing I want to adopt or be a foster parent.

So the things I definitely want?
-Living comfortably. I don’t need/want much clutter or stuff to do this.
-A dog. Or two.
-A garden.
-Travel. If this is included in my job that’s great, but the ability to pack up for the weekend to go visit some interesting geographic location is also important.
-The ability to cook for myself and bake for fun. Do crafty things. This ties back to what I do with my time. I don’t want a job that restricts my ability to do things for myself.

That’s about it. I don’t feel like that is much to aspire for but I know this seems like lofty goals at this point in my life. I think this also speaks to the sometimes, sarcastic remarks that are made about this generation being so f*cked over that when we “daydream” about our futures, we only dream about very humble goals, like “I want to be able to have curtains on my windows” or “I hope to have some nice second-hand furniture in my shitty apartment” a great example of this is the twitter account, @AverageGoal that parodies life goals some people actually have.

Unfortunately, this is the kind of reality we have to live with today. I think that not only have we grown to accept this fate we share, but I think we’ve grown a little complacent with these goals and think it’s better to be “realistic” yet still idealize these goals as still somewhat difficult to attain. In some ways I guess this is a way of really checking your privilege, however, this applies to most young adults today. I currently battle with these ideas because in the school I’m at, mostly everyone here is not at all worried about that so I’m just standing here internally screaming and thinking “HOW CAN YOU NOT BE WORRIED YOU WILL ABSOLUTELY NOT FAIL?!?!! I’M WORRIED ABOUT GETTING A JOB. PERIOD. I DON’T EVEN THINK IT WILL BE POSSIBLE FOR ME TO BE FINANCIALLY STABLE FOR THE REST OF MY LIFE, HOW ARE YOU SO SURE AND CALM ABOUT THIS?”

At which point I remember most of the kids around me come from upper-middle and upper class families who are probably paying for their education, or like a friend of mine, actually are trust fund babies. I didn’t know those existed. I literally thought that was only a description used in books or movies but it’s radical for me to be surrounded by young adults who will probably never EVER in their lives have to wonder if they will have enough money for food or gas and will never have to face the decision between “do I pay my bill on time, or should I get gas for my car” I’ve had to make that decision just this month again. Besides from that just being not ideal for a young adult, let’s get back to the point, tiny homes.

The more I think about it, the more I realize that this is something that might provide an opportunity for me to live comfortably by my own means, but it’s a wonderful example of how I can apply what I’m learning and my morals to my life. I want to have less of an impact on this world and I want to be able to provide a little extra and ‘leave this place in a little better condition than I found it’. Now I know that is pretty much an unachievable goal seeing as there’s several components, I could say that by educating more people and helping companies have less of an impact than they did when I was born, that I’ve achieved my goal, but if I want to actually reverse and be a positive point of change for the whole world, that’s entirely different and hardly possible but that’s what I want to aim for.

So a tiny house.. I’ve been watching tons of videos with ideas, Do-it-yourself-ers who have sage advice, etc. I think I’ll draft some of my plans into a computerized form and share them with you sometime soon but I’m loving the idea that I could possibly make a temporary, simpler home for my college years and use that to provide myself with a stabler form of housing. I know, it’s absolutely wild because how can a 20 year old expect to live in a camper and pay rent?? on a property? or how would that even work?? I have no idea yet but it’s entirely something I’m hoping to make feasible for my summer/winter months when I’m not in school and don’t have a place to live.


Do you have any experience with tiny homes? Any tips or ideas? I’m hoping to first acquire something that my front-wheel drive Rav4 can handle, which isn’t much.. Do you guys have any questions you think I should ask myself before I move along with this? It’s always useful to really ask myself questions I probably will realize were important in hindsight so if any of you think this is a terrible idea, tell me why in the comments below. I’d honestly love to hear your feedback.

Do you think you could live in your own tiny home?

As always, remember to let someone know you are concerned with them. It’s nice to know people care about us.

Stay lovely,
Ada xx

Leave a Reply

